Plenary Speaker

Prof. Anand Rangarajan, University of Florida
Prof. Anand Rangarajan received the BTech degree in electronics engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India in 1984, and the PhD degree in electrical engineering from the University of Southern California in 1991. From 1990 to 1992, he was a postdoctoral associate in the Departments of Diagnostic Radiology and Computer Science, Yale University. From 1992 to 1995, he held a joint research faculty position in both departments. From 1995 to 2000, he was an assistant professor in the Image Processing and Analysis Group (IPAG), Departments of Diagnostic Radiology and Electrical Engineering, Yale University. He is now an associate professor in the Department of Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE), University of Florida. In 1992, he chaired a Neural Information Processing Systems (NIPS) Workshop entitled "Deterministic Annealing and Combinatorial Optimization" and in 1995, he cochaired a NIPS Workshop (with Eric Mjolsness) entitled "Statistical and Structural Models in Network Vision." He has served on the Program Committees of Energy Minimization Methods in Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition (EMMCVPR) 1997, 1999, and 2001, the Workshop on Biomedical Image Analysis (WBIA) 1998, Statistical and Computational Theories of Vision (SCTV) 1999, Workshop on Biomedical Image Registration (WBIR) 1999, IEEE Workshop on Motion and Video Computing 2002 and IEEE Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition (CVPR) 2000, 2001, and 2003. He has also cochaired the IEEE Workshop on Mathematical Methods in Biomedical Image Analysis (MMBIA) 2001 (with Larry Staib) and EMMCVPR 2003 (with Mario Figueiredo and Josiane Zerubia). His current research interests are best summarized as the application of machine learning ideas and principles to medical image analysis and computer vision. He is also interested in the scientific study of consciousness and has been active in the Tucson series of conferences entitled Toward a Science of Consciousness (1996, 1998, 2000, and 2002). He is member of the IEEE.

Invited Speaker